Space Shuttle

As a child I was always fascinated with exploring space. At one point I thought that I may even aspire to be an astronaut. I remember taking a tour of Cape Canaveral as a child and seeing Space Shuttle Columbia sitting on the launch pad. It had been delayed so I actually saw it on the pad before it took off for the first time. It was so large and majestic! It made me feel patriotic even as a child. Years later I vividly remember the day that Challenger exploded. Such a sad day to be an American.

One of the reasons that I am proud to be an American is because Americans by nature are explorers. We physically explore space but we also explore advancements for the human race. This is why is saddens me greatly that the Space Shuttle program is ending. I feel as though America has failed. We will now send our astronauts to Russia to be launched? I shutter at the thought.

America needs a presence in space!

Leave a comment

Filed under Politics

Leave a comment